LibGuides: Mathematics: Overview

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

760-366-3791 ex. 5907

About this Guide

This subject guide contains resources to help you in your research of anthropology topics. The tabs above are linked to various collections of information: specific databases and journals, books you may check out from the library, and websites selected by the librarian for their academic value.

Think of this guide as a map to the types of sources your instructor expects you to use when doing your research.

Career Information - What Can I Do With a Degree in Mathematics?

American Mathematical Society Career Information
This site includes information about what mathematicians do, job sites for math majors, and career information for high school students. It also includes advice for new graduate students and new Ph.Ds.
American Statistical Association: Career Center
Statisticians are in high demand in a wide variety of fields. As the largest professional association for statisticians in the world, the ASA serves as the main clearinghouse for information about jobs, careers, and employment for the statistical profession.
California Occupational Guides
These guides include information about job duties, working conditions, job outlook, wages, benefits, education and other requirements, training and much more.
Mathematical Association of America: Career Guide
A study by PayScale shows that the top 15 highest-earning college degrees have a common element: mathematics. The MAA is committed to providing information that helps students understand their options
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A guide from the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics detailing career information about hundreds of occupations, including duties, education and training, pay, and outlook.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Job Search and Career Information
Includes internships, job search and career information resources.
UC Davis: List of Mathematics-Related Professions
Mathematics teaches patience, discipline, and step-by-step problem-solving skills. For those with a substantial background in mathematics, an unlimited number of career opportunuities are available. This site includes a list of mathematics-related professions with a brief description of each.

On This Day in Math

Have a Question?

Greenleaf Library at CMC

Library Home Page
The Greenleaf Library is located in Quad III of the CMC campus. "The primary mission of the Greenleaf Library is to support CMC's instructional programs by providing local and remote access to diverse resources. Library faculty and staff strive to provide high-quality support services and to advance CMC's mission and institutional outcomes by promoting and facilitating information competency, critical thinking, and life-long learning for both students and the college community."