LibGuides: Health Sciences: Databases/Journals

EBSCO Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health contains scholarly journals related to the medical field.

In order to access the following databases off campus, you must login. For login information, please contact the library at 760-366-3791, ext. 4256.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

PubMed
PubMed is a database that has 26 million citations of medical articles and links to those provided through PubMed Central.
National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), located on the National Institutes of Health Campus, contains the world's largest biomedical library and is a leader in research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. The NLM website is home to PubMed and MedlinePlus databases.
Science Direct: Nursing & Health Sciences
Search hundreds of health science journals. Many articles are free.